The good, the bad, and my girl

So I think over the past couple of weeks I’ve become the most annoying patient at my OB office.  Just doing my part to be that paranoid, don’t-know-what-the-hell-I’m-doing first-time mom.

First, there was the quad screen that took over 2 weeks to get the results. I called and they said they would call the lab. Repeat this process and few times and finally the results got posted on the online patient portal and everything is normal!

But that’s not all mom was worried about….a week ago I started feeling very small shifting movements but they were tiny.  Then, I didn’t feel them for a few days and got a little freaked out.  So I called my OB after a night shift one morning and they told me to come in that day.  I set my alarm on my phone but for some reason, the alarm never went off.  I called them as soon as I woke up and the nurse was basically scoffing at me and being very rude so of course, I do what any hormonal, pregnant woman would do and I started crying.  I went in the next day and we had an ultrasound-everything was fine and my girl looks great!

The OB explained that I have an anterior placenta and it may not be until later on in the pregnancy until I feel movements and then at the very end when there isn’t much room left, I won’t feel quite as much movement.  She also reminded me that they don’t start counting movements until 25 weeks.  Then, I decided to go ahead and complain about the nurse I talked to on the phone, which isn’t something I would normally do.  My OB was very kind and mentioned how some people take their outside stress with them to work and how that isn’t OK.  I don’t like to get people “in trouble” but I feel like staff working at an OB office should be especially sensitive to their patients because we are all hormonal and kind of emotionally fragile.  Obviously, I’ve had some major anxiety after the subchorionic hematoma incident and have been very overly sensitive and a bit paranoid about things. My new mantra is now, “I’m OK, you’re OK, we’re all OK.”

I say that but…this weekend I started having some lovely UTI symptoms-going more than usual, feeling like my bladder isn’t completely empty, and soreness..so I’m going into the OB today and already called into work for tonight.  Sheesh..thank GOD it’s nothing serious and thank GOD I don’t have any problems that would put me on bedrest or threaten the pregnancy or anything that so many other women go through.  I’m thankful for a healthy little girl and although I’ve missed work more than I would otherwise and I’m overly anxious, I’m so happy that I’m going to be a mom to a precious baby girl.

This weekend we bought a fan for the nursery and a closet organizer. We’re not sure the room is hooked up properly to set up a fan so I called my property management company today. I cannot wait to really get the project going! We already have ideas for colors and design-we’re going with a teal and pink room and plan to DIY some furniture. I’m so excited and I really need the distraction from well, my paranoid self.  Distraction is a huge issue for me lately-my best friend had to leave town for the past few months so I haven’t been able to see her.  I work nights so calling my friends is kind of difficult when they have opposite schedules. I was finally able to go to a gator game with my husband and MIL this weekend and got my work schedule set up so I can go to more games in the future. Also, I went to the library and got my card fixed so I can start ordering and reading books. Anything to turn my worried thoughts off and focus on the positive.  I could use a drink these days but that’s not happening!

My husband was supposed to upload some pics of baby girl into dropbox but he has not yet (minus 10 daddy points..) so I will return with ultrasound pictures in the near future. I know you will be refreshing your browser in anticipation…

This entry was posted in Life, My husband, Parenting, pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

