Making it Fun

Sundays are not fun days for me. I usually have something major due that I haven’t done yet because of how busy I’ve been with my new job.

I know, I know. If I were responsible and just did it early, I wouldn’t have to go through that. I used to be an extremely responsible, straight “A” student that got everything done ahead of time. That was when I was getting my first bachelors degree. So, gosh, over 7 years ago.

The papers and assignments have lost their appeal. I know how to write a paper. Do I really need to prove myself 200 more times? I counted today and I will graduate in 67 days.

In 67 days, my life will be very different.

I will officially have my BSN and won’t have to worry about projects or assignments putting a shadow on my weekend every week. I will have my bachelors for if I eventually get tired of floor nursing and want to take on a management position.

I will feel less insecure about my job in 67 days and will know all the little, important details that I’m cramming into my brain right now.

I will be able to dedicate time to things I’ve wanted to do for a loooong time.

I’m so looking forward to that.

In the meanwhile, I’m going to attempt to live in the moment and make each day as painless and positive as I can. First I started with this. I checked on the time and found it in my favorite (and only) 24 hour music video. Let’s find a happy person at 12:30 pm on a Sunday.

This sassy, little girl just cracked me up! Such a great dancer!

So I’ve been brainstorming ways to make Sundays better days.

1. Write my postings/papers outside on my front or back porch. The weather is beautiful and cheers me up.

2. Reward myself with frequent dance breaks and music.

3. Remember my goals and why I’m working so hard.

4. Either on Sunday morning or Friday afternoon I’d like to check out this coffee shop close to our house that I’ve been meaning to discover.

5. Crockpot dinners.  When I actually find recipes that come out good. Suggestions please?

6. Walks. Simple but they help my brain.

7. Make a list and highlight it when I accomplish each task. Again, very simple, but I have the typical, nursing student strange obsession with highlighters.

8. Take breaks to read a book for fun. Rarely happens.

9. Homework dates with my nursing friends when they aren’t at work.

10. Organize my desk and buy cute homework/coffee accessories as a fun reward for finishing big projects.

If you have been in school since dinosaurs roamed the Earth, like me, how do you make it tolerable?Homework

 

Aside | This entry was posted in Life, Nursing School, Thoughts, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

