Ouch

I hate to be a negative Nancy but it’s been a very “trying” week of nursing school. I had a journal article summary and presentation, online homework, and a mental health CPF to start on Saturday. Then, on Sunday I got to wake up at 4:45 am to make it to my pediatrics clinical in time. It was an observation day and I actually had a great time! I got to hang out in the NICU and take care of the premies all day. It was a wonderful experience for me. The nurses in the NICU are a breed of their own. When there are 4 nurses and 15-20 premies and newborns prioritizing becomes very important, as you can imagine. I was glad to be there and help out with some simple things and look at the different types of congenital conditions that landed the babies in the NICU. After Clinical, I drove to pick up more printer paper and then headed to my friend’s house to finish working on our mental health CPF that was due.

I finished it at around 12 pm and began to drive home. I was tired and knew I had to be up at 5 am the next morning. So what happens? Of course, I get pulled over! Apparently, the light over my license plate was out. He also pointed out that I haven’t changed my address yet on my license and that it was expiring soon. I explained that I was getting married soon and was going to wait until my name changed to change everything. He didn’t seem to get that. Luckily, he commented on my football/school alumni status and let me off on a warning. I arrived home only to find B stressing out and working literally all night long. When I woke up at 5 am the next morning he was staring at the computer with heavy, dark eyes like a crazy person. Work was kicking his butt too. So much for getting any wedding planning done this week (our wedding is in 3 weeks).

So the next day I took care of a great family and got all my paperwork completed. However, I had to do a presentation in post-conference and we were running about 50 minutes behind. I was rushed through my presentation because 2-3 people in my clinical group were out of childcare for the day and needed to go NOW. So of course, I got flustered and managed to forget to turn in my paperwork for the day resulting in a 0. After all that work, you can imagine how upset I was.  I’m speaking to the professors about this issue but my hopes aren’t very high.

Normally, I carpool with my friend to pediatrics clinicals but she had to work after clinical that day so it was my first time driving there myself. I accidently parked in the wrong parking garage.  A nice lady directed me to the appropriate way to get to my building. Of course, when I went back in the evening I had no idea where my car was. I walked through 3 different parking garages texting B and cursing and trying not to cry the entire time. I found my car after about an hour and finally headed home. That was rough.

B was still working when I got home since he has a project that is taking over his life at work so I had some popcorn for dinner. Very nutritious.  I feel asleep at around 9 pm that night and slept until 8 am the next morning.

In the morning, I straightened the house out a bit since B was still MIA and I needed a good study environment. A close lightning strike broke our refrigerator and we were living out of a cooler this past week and didn’t have much food. So I went to Dunkin donuts and got us a brain power breakfast-with a half dozen donuts, of course. Did I mention that my final dress fitting for my wedding is this Friday? So not looking forward to that.

I spent the rest of the day studying for a test that was today. I ended up staying up until 2:30 am studying about neonates, infants, toddlers, school age children, adolescents, pain management in children, and immunizations. I had to memorize different vital signs for each age group. Unfortunately, I didn’t have that much time to go over immunizations but luckily I have resources printed out if I need them. I ended up passing the test but finding out about not turning in my paper and getting a 0 after the test so I spent the rest of the day crying and emailing teachers explaining what happened.

I can breath a little bit now since I’m off for a few days but I have final wedding things to do and homework to catch up on. Also, I have my first mental health test next week.

Sometimes, I wonder why I pay to be tortured.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

